Our School

Kawerau South School is a contributing primary school situated in the township of Kawerau, in the Eastern Bay of Plenty of New Zealand. The school opened in June 1963 and has a current roll of approximately 370 students. 

Our student population identifies as 87% Māori, 10% Pakeha New Zealand European, 2% Asian and 1% Pacific.

The school campus is set in very large grounds, with extensive open spaces for children to play and explore. 

Our school is proud of our valued partnership with mana whenua. Tūwharetoatanga influences the school values and local curriculum, promoting learner identity and belonging.

Kawerau South School is organised into five learning syndicates: Kura Teina (Years 1-2), Kura Waenga (Years 3-4), Kura Tuakana (Years 4-6), Opunoke (Years 1-6) our Te Ao Māori Space where 51-80% of Te Reo Māori is taught in our Year 5-6 spaces and Total Immersion in our Year 1-4 spaces.  We also have a Special Needs Unit, Takiwātanga which caters for ORS Funded akongā as well as some learners who experience success in this unique learning environment.  

The school has a number of other specialists, including a Learning Support Co-Ordinator (SPELD trained) and a Social Worker through Tūwharetoa ki Kawerau.

Strong family connections and traditions form an important part of school life. Many current students have whānau who attended South School, and they now in turn continue to offer strong support for the school.